I started playing bass in January this year, and recently decided to buy a grade3 (rockschool) book so that i could get some kind of gauge on my progress.

The thing is...i've learnt the three songs required after only a few days.

Is there something i'm missing here? When i went for grade3 drums i took ages to prepare for the exam.
Rockschool was never the best grading system, and since the new syllabus has been introduced, the grades are even easier. I'm currently studying for my grade 8 and it's really not that hard.
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
I'd never had a bass lesson in my life and had a chuckle at the grade 8.
They're just that easy.

Quote by MightyAl
How do you physically download an album? Like run your computer off a dynamo on an exercise bike?
Yeah, i've self taught myself the bass, looking to go into funk/slappy stuff atm because ive spent the past 4months learning metal (and incubus, hah)
You might as well do grade 5 as I don't think a grade 3 will actualy get you anything.
Is there an actual point to this stuff or is it just wank material?

EDIT: Oh, it is college-accredited wank material.
Last edited by RockDJ at Apr 5, 2008,
You get UCAS points from grade 6 and upwards.

I wouldn't call the stuff easy, there's a great deal of composing involved as they leave you to ad lib and create your own solos and runs in grade 8, plus there's some pretty awkward time signatures, it's just not a difficult as you would expect.
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
Quote by Deliriumbassist
yeah, you don't get UCAS points until grade 5 (or is it 6...)

then again, grade 8 only gives you 75 points.

I don't know what UCAS points are but some colleges like you to have grade 5 if you do music.