i tap with my pick instead of my fingers because it's just easier to me, and when i try to use my finger, i can't get any sound out, it comes out like a muted note. but my teacher says i should only use a pick for super fast tapping. tips?
Quote by NGD1313
Well I don't know about solos but how about that Smoke on the Water riff. It's like...impossible.

THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE

I'm Jake. I'm a musician, philosopher, and exhibitionist.
i'm a big believer in doing what's easiest for you even if it's unorthodox. i hate people that are so pedantic and say you must do this just because.

using a pick can get a cleaner, better sound but makes it hard to go from string to string.

using your finger (usually middle cuz it's longer and makes it easier to go back to using the pick) is what people say should be done because it makes it easier to go from string to string and if you can use multiple fingers like buckethead then yeah. you're supposedly supposed to be able to get the same sound from using your finger as a pick if you do it "right" but i think sometimes if your setup isn't that great it isn't possible.

i say, do what YOU think is best. but keep in mind i'm no expert on tapping.
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥
the trick with using ur finger is that when u tap on the string, u hit it a lil hard. basically just poke the string with ur fingering until u get the sound that ur looking for and then just figure out how to do it a lil more smoothly. hope this helps
personally, i used to use the pick, but now i wish i had practiced with my middle finger just because it's easier when your trying to switch from tapping to picking quickly.
Quote by guitarist_9018