i have a decent interface, but now i need some mics. i know this is probably a stupid question, but what some good mics? ive heard that shure SM57 is really good and afforable. are there any others?

the main thing is nice sound quality without being like 500 bucks or something. im new to recording so help would be great.

EDIT: im going to upgrade my interface soon, too. have any suggetions of a good quality interface for around $200-$400? please give some suggetions for both firewire AND USB intefaces. thanks.
Last edited by guitaristx11 at Apr 5, 2008,
for recording/micing anything but drums, the SM57 is awesome, yet only around 100$. i use it for micing myself at practice, and it works amazing. like i said, the only thing its not good at micing is drums.
Gear

Gibson Shred-X Explorer
Epiphone Negative Explorer w/ EMG 80/60
ESP LTD EC QM200
Ibanez RG321 w/ EMG 81/60

Peavey 5150
Mesa Boogie 4x12 Slant cab

http://www.delusionsof.com
it depends what you're looking for.

get an sm58 if you're doing vocals and that.

a 57 for micing amps and snares.

and look into condensors if you're really serious
As for the Interface, look at Presonus, M Audio, Mboxes, or ART's offerings. You probably won't need anything greater than a USB interface since I don't see any drums. If you're doing one track at a time, this ART and this Presnous are insanely versatile.

You may also want to look at Mackie's Satellite series, especially if you want to connect audio equipment to it later, like compressors or studio monitors. The Onyx preamps are very good and transparent.
Last edited by Fast_Fingers at Apr 5, 2008,