I'm not an expert with tubes by any means. First real tube amp.
Rectifier recording preamp and 2:100 mesa power amp, lopo 2x12 with Celes T12-100's

Some folk on antother forum are telling me to get better tone out of my amp, I need to have it very loud. Loud to the point where your ears will start hurting. To get around this volume increase you use a hot plate and then you can crank your amp and get all of that sweet tube tone without killing your ears.

Now I'm wondering if it's worth it to spend almost $400 on one of these attenuators as they are called.

I play mostly at home. I do crank the thing up sometimes, but it's so loud I can't really turn it past 7:00 or what would be 1.

What do you think? Anybody have experience with these. Everyones telling me I got a sick unit here and that it would sound crappy at low volumes. Now when wife and baby are home, I basically run it on almost 0 and when I turn it up when nobody is home it seems to get a lot more harsh or bangy. I have it on vintage setting. Gain cranked, treble 3:00, mid 1:00, bass 11:00 presence maxxed.

Any ideas or help is appreciated.
Hell no! Forget the Hotplate, and go with a Weber Mass.

Tons of features, for next to nothing. That, and they're hand made in the US by the one and only Ted Weber. Love mine to pieces.
Now it's 1984
Knock knock at your front door
It's the suede denim secret police
They have come for your un-cool niece
Well, you could have avoided some of it to an extent by getting a smaller poweramp that a 100 watt one.
Gear:
Ibanez RG550 20th RFR
Traynor YCV50
Fender FMT HH Tele
Mesa Boogie 2ch Triple Rectifier
2 1x12 custom Theile cabs
ISP Decimator
Krank Kranshaft
Boss BF-2 Flanger
BBE Sonic Maximizer
Was told it was the loudest thing in the universe so I bought it

It's designed for the preamp I have with the modern switching and all.

Weber Mass?