Ok.

I am a college student. A college student with not very much money. Recently, since there's no stability in borrowing others' equipment, I bought myself a nice little $300 SWR LA15 - a 100w 15" + horn combo. It's SWR's handdown to the lower budget people, and I think it's quite the piece of equipment for the price. Very loud for only 100w, nice and fast for a 15", love it.

But I digress.

This guy whose band I'm looking at joining and I were talking today. Well, he plays bass too, but he's the guitarist. He asked me what kind of rig I have. I say "well, I'm kinda strapped for cash, so I've just got this SWR LA15" and he goes "Whoa whoa, you've got a combo? Come on dude, you should get those priorities straight!"

And I've heard this before. Many times.

Point is, I understand the idea of a stack being better. You get to choose the best amplification, cab, maybe two cabs for you, and they can be different brands, mix and match, whatever. BUT, if there's a combo that has the kind of amplification you want AND a good driver setup to go with it, tell me, what's so wrong with that? Is it just elitist bull****, or am I really missing something here?
Les Claypool
Geddy Lee
Robert DeLeo
Flea

Weileder

...Coincidence? I think not.
yea you could have a perfectly dialed in 100w and if anyone complains about it getting droned out, just mic it up.
No way man you are in the right.
Combos can be just as loud as stacks, and you can hook up cabs to them.
Most people who buy half stacks do it just to "have a half stack!" and don't realize that combos are all you need, and they save you money.
Plus, you can bring a combo virtually anywhere, while there may be many times when "dude, i gotta half stack and not enough room"
http://www.guitarnuts.com/amps/myths.php
^read that

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.