I have a neck I made and had originally put in dot inlays with a hand drill (blasphemy, i know). well, i had a friend who has a machine shop make me some radius blocks and i told him 3 times (even supplied a CNC program because I'm a CNC programmer/machinist by trade) that it needed to be a 12" radius and when he cut them he cut them with a 6" radius - i guess his brain was in diameter mode that day. so i had to sand the board down which completely ruined my dot inlays and because of the hand drill i used the existing marks were way off center and i didn't want to sand down any farther (even though i coulda... i guess i just went into severe panic mode) so now i decided to do trapezoid inlays on my now 12" radiused board.

the question i have is what method of mayhem do you guys use for keeping the router base square on the curved surface? the guys at stewmac said tape some shims on the edges of the board but i'm a little skeptical about that... not quite sure how well that would work... maybe i'm missing something... which is why i'm asking you guys. if you have any methods or suggestions please let me know

i've seen sites online regarding inlay but nobody ever mentions keeping the router base square to anything or any way of keeping it square... am i really missing something???
Most people route before radiusing the board, but use deep enough inlays to survive the sanding.

Sorry, that doesn't help you much! :P

You could make complementary block with a 16" radius to lay on the top, clamp from the sides, then route through the top layer of wood. .. having drawn a template onto it.
Quote by nuthinbuttrubl8
the guys at stewmac said tape some shims on the edges of the board but i'm a little skeptical about that...

What are you skeptical about?