K im new to soloing and i play in a hard rock/metal band and i am wondering how the hell to solo because whenever i try to it sounds like some bluesy stuff how do i get away from this?
Quote by Mackawade
i was wondering what is some of the stuff you guys would consider better than WOW

Quote by last-1s-out
Getting kicked in the balls repeatedly

Primus Sucks
you can't use the minor pentatonic scale and expect something to not sound bluesy. that's why it's used by blues guitarists and blues-based rock guitarists.

for metal, sometimes people use major scales, but then you run the risk of your solo sounding "too happy". That's why modes are often used. look them up in the articles section.
-Gibson SG Faded
-Behringer HB01 Wah (I realize it sucks, but i have no money right now)
-Boss SD-1 Super Overdrive
-Ibanez CF-7 Chorus/Flanger
-I'm not gonna list my amp until I get a decent one
Quote by gtrhero93
you can't use the minor pentatonic scale and expect something to not sound bluesy. that's why it's used by blues guitarists and blues-based rock guitarists.

for metal, sometimes people use major scales, but then you run the risk of your solo sounding "too happy". That's why modes are often used. look them up in the articles section.

Of course you can - the minor pentatonic scale has been in existence a lot longer than the blues. The problem is most people will have learned predominantly blues based licks.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Learn some new modes and scales, play around with them and get accustomed to the feel of each, then implement them in your solos.
You can always add some notes from the natural or harmonic minor scales.
Adding some chromatic licks could also help.
Quote by brandooon