Hi, I'm a beginner, and I have a Peavey Raptor. I'm thinking about getting some new strings, but don't know what brand/kind I should get. I'm still learning, but I can play a few songs by these artists: Hendrix, Iron Maiden, Black sabbath, Blue Oyster Cult, Nirvana, Ozzy, Alien Ant Farm, White Stripes, The Beatles, and Lustra, if that helps. I was thinking about the Ernie Ball Slinkies as the reviews are good. Any opinions on what I should get?
Get whatever.

As long the strings are comfortable to play, use them.

I use ernie ball, nothing wrong with them, work great.
Sunn O))):
Quote by Doppelgänger
You could always just sleep beside your refrigerator.

Guitar:
- Ibanez S670FM w/ JB
- Fender 'Lite Ash' Stratocaster
- Fender '72 Deluxe Telecaster
- Arbiter LP Jr. Doublecut
Amp:
- Laney VC15

'72 Tele Appreciation Group
RIP DIO
The brand of string you use makes almost no difference on your tone. The difference between roundwounds vs. flatwounds is obvious, and some people might actually feel a difference between brands, but the difference in tone is nonexistent.

Just try few brands and see if you have a preference.
ernire ball or elixer

from experience they have been the best, but I might not like the same ones as you.
Quote by Zangetsu 101
Girl (Ned/chav) annoying me on the bus.

Me "Have you ever bled out your arse-hole?"

Her: Facial expression was priceless - "What??! Noo!"

Me: "Well if you want to keep it that way, **** off."

She then turned away and whimpered.
Thanks for the quick replies.

And Simsimius - are the ernie ball easy to play on?
Because these stock strings are crap compared to the strings on my friend's guitar. I think I just want something that bends easily.
Small gauge, brand new, ernie ball strings are really nice [to play on]! But any size will be nice too.

And when the strings have been covered in GHS fast fret, it makes the strings MUCH nicer, brighter, and so much easier to play.
Sunn O))):
Quote by Doppelgänger

Guitar: