I was thinking this morning about how a player of my level would "pan out" in the 1950's, I mean no offense to Chuck Berry etc. etc. but I have seen videos right here on this site with kids that can play 100 times better. It amazes me how we have evolved, I mean look at motocross, skateboarding, BMX, whatever, imagine if these kids went back to the 50s, people would think they were supernatural. Remember in "Back to the future" when Michael J. Fox went back in time and played at the prom or what ever? Just thinking out loud here, but hats off to all of you young guys that have taken guitar to the next level, I'm a decent blues guitarist, but I know that there are those of you that are half my age and can play circles around me. Now all we need to do is invent a time machine, go back in time and become rock stars!
like you said.. we evolved.. and so did music. you'll never know if people in the 30's/40's/50's/60's70's would have liked the music nowadays. I know there are people alive from those times today and like the music now but i honestly dont think that people would like a transition from Elvis to Greenday. but thats just my opinon.

edit: or Elvis to shred, since you were talking about 'playing ability'
Quote by joshjhasarrived
Little does the government suspect that it's funds are being rapidly drained through funding infinite free cardboard boxes to bored teenagers on an internet forum.
Last edited by victoryaloy at Apr 7, 2008,
like Syndrome said in The Incredibles... "When everyone's a superhero... no one is."

by that i mean, sure, there are alot of great guitarists out there, but now, because there are so many of them, it all seems so much less impressive. when those guitarists from the 50's-80's first arose, they were the first of their kind (generally), so naturally they were more "impressive" and unique than guitarists these days. it will be really hard to innovate like those early guitarists did.
Gear

Gibson Shred-X Explorer