Page 1 of 2
I'm looking for advice and people's experiences. How good were YOU at three years playing guitar?

I have been playing for very close to 3 years, yet I don't feel like I'm that good. I can't cleanly and consistently economy pick across strings at high speeds. I can sweep pick that basic little minor thing, but the strings ring (not bleed, just ring after I let go of them.) I practice everyday. Any advice or personal experiences?
It's called talent. I doubt Chuck Berry or Kurt Cobain could sweep pick
Quote by rabidguitarist
Please don't ruin this thread. Transvestitism is serious business.
I only play for a little over a year, so I can't help you with that :P
A hero of war, Yeah that's what I'll be

(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)
At less than two years, i can sweep triads cleanly at about 140bpm. And some 5 string sweeps not very cleanly, and quite alot slower. I'm playing in quite a sucessful band and have played over 20 venues in the local area.
Quote by Jonjy2
Haha! You are awesome Bucketbotman!! Lolz!!

+100

I CAN PUT MY FOOT BEHIND MY HEAD!

Gear
Ibanez RG370DX special edition!
Tanglewood Oddessy Acoustic
Marshall TSL100
Marshall 1960's A slant cab
Fender 40W amp
Dunlop Crybaby
Usually right before I have a guitar " break through " or get noticeably better I have a little period where I think I'm the worst guitarist ever.
Quote by Seef
Usually right before I have a guitar " break through " or get noticeably better I have a little period where I think I'm the worst guitarist ever.

SWEET! Hopefully that's my situation too.
Quote by bucketbot
At less than two years, i can sweep triads cleanly at about 140bpm. And some 5 string sweeps not very cleanly, and quite alot slower. I'm playing in quite a sucessful band and have played over 20 venues in the local area.
Way to make TS feel good about himself