With all these pickups (single coil, humbucker, active, passive, etc) and variations ( 2 humbuckers, 2 humbuckers and 1 single, one humbucker and 2 singles, etc.) I get extremely confused on what each can do for me. I am a beginner player and getting my first electric so I know very little about pickups and want to get a better understanding at the differences between pickups and the different variations of pickups that can go into a guitar. Is there somewhere I can look these up get a better understanding or can anyone on here help me understand?
Anthony Linhardt
1st. what sound are you looking for? and what is your budget?
Quote by MakinLattes
dwelling on past mishaps is for the weak. you must stride into the future, unabashed and prepared to fuck up yet again.
I would like to be able to play metal, classic rock, alternative rock, blues.

Right now I am not worried about a budget for a guitar, just want to understand these different pickups and variations to better plan what would be good for me.

Plus just a general understanding of it all is what I am really after. Just did not know if there was a resource out there that could help me easily understand everything about pickups, variations, etc.
Anthony Linhardt
Last edited by ALinhardt at Apr 7, 2008,
single coils normally are go in a strat or the middle postion of some guitarsb. they are smaller than humbuckers and usually sound thinner.

humbuckers were created to buck the hum that single coils created. they look like two single coils attached to each other. the main side effect of humbuckers is that they give off a warmer fatter tone.

passive pickups are the ones that i just mentioned. they are they\ most common pick ups. active pickups (like EMGs) need batteries and give off a much stronger signal.