Ionian - 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 1
Dorian - 1 2 b3 4 5 6 b7 1
Phrygian - 1 b2 b3 4 5 b6 b7 1
Lydian - 1 2 3 #4 5 6 7 1
Mixolydian - 1 2 3 4 5 6 b7 1
Aeolian - 1 2 b3 4 5 b6 b7 1
Locrian - 1 b2 b3 4 b5 b6 b7 1

according to this, i should be able to take the C Major scale, flat the 3rd and 7th notes, and then it will become the C Dorian, right? or is it the D Dorian?

if it's the D Dorian, do i have to start on a D note or do i still use C as the root note? im new to modes so i just need some help. thanks.
It's D Dorian, and you have to start on a D in order to obtain the Dorian tonality.
Dissonance is Bliss

Signal Chain:
Carvin CT-4
Ibanez TS-9
Carvin Quad-X
TC Electronics G-Major
Mesa/Boogie 2:90
Ear Candy BuzzBomb

Member #4 of the Carvin Club
Wrong. C major with a flat 3 and flat 7 is C dorian.
My Gear
Ibanez RG7321
Ibanez RG520QS
'78 Ibanez Les Paul copy
Schecter Hellraiser Tempest
Fender Telecaster
Vantage Semihollow
Line6 AX2 212 combo modeling amplifier
its D dorian
equipment:
Esp EC-1000
ibanez rg550
Peavey 5150 combo
Boss ML-2 Metal core pedal
DB-01 crybaby from hell

Quote by dubstar92
Tell the friend that due to an amp explosion you are now temporarily deaf and will judge her friend solely on looks.
No, thats wrong to turn the C major scale into a d dorian, you must have the appropriate progression behind it, basically all it is is just basing the scale around D to D, which you don;t even have to do if the chord is like a dminor, you are not basing your scale on the chords key signature, you look at the chords in the song and go okay, its a c major to a diminor, what will i play if iwant to play dorian, so for c major you could play the c major scale tehn for D minor you could play the D dorian. Modes are a re arrangement of the pattern of the notes, not the ntoes themselves.
C major is the same as D dorian.
If you have a normal C major with að flat 3 and 7 it's C dorian, then the major(ionian) of C dorian is A# major