So, I've been playing guitar for just about a year (Well, 2 years when I was younger, but I quit for a while)

Anyway, I can play fine, I can learn by tabs easy, but I've never taken lessons...I know power chords, but not really any major chords, or scales or anything like that.

Is it vital to becoming a truly great player?
Its not vital, but you have to be very well self-taught in order to become proficient in it. Jimi Hendrix took no lessons, Stevie Ray Vaughan took no lessons. Its merely determination to learn. I certainly recommend you take lessons. At least learn the scales, everything's based off the major scale. . . Unless you are extremely dedicated and have kind of inborn talent, you have a small chance of becoming great without help.
While looking at a guitar magazine with some friends.

Quote by Kaleb
DUDE! Is that a Mel Gibson?!

Quote by boreamor
Don't you understand the importance of correct spelling and grammar? It's the online symbol of maturity. And you as sure as hell don't have that.
scales are a must if you want to solo and improvise. learning you major and minor scales would be good. also alternate picking is very important when playing faster and more accuratly.
I'm self-taught & I never got anywhere until I began studying scales & theory.
I'd rather die than go to heaven.

Quote by Chris.Rock.Art
I like you and you are special

Quote by perry589
I don't wank. I auto fellatio.

Stuff outside your comfort zone, stuff you wouldn't normally learn. Starting out I probably had no interest in blues, but that became one of my fortes. Also I've been forced to learn jazz chords and scales as well as some classical that I'd normally not play. Stuff like that is good to know, just ask Zakk Wylde. Whether you respect him or not, he talks about how he usually practices country licks and techniques and jazz scales rather than metal.
Quote by Sonicxlover
Kensai, I think I'll get a flamboyant sig.

Quote by Sonicxlover

Quote by Sonicxlover