Hi all,

First post

Ummmm, well, I got the basics of my gear together. I just need help with my pedal selection now.

So, My main guitar is a 1979 Gibson RD artist.

My amp's a 1975 fender bassman 100 with orig cab. (about the best clean tone ever) 6550 tubes (should i change back to 6l6's?)

I'm a heavy metal guitarist, but old metal, back when it still had melody. (Wishbone Ash, Metallica, Zep, Deep Purple, Sabathish sorta stuff)

So what pedals should i be looking at?

Thanks
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Gibson Explorer New Century
Gibson RD Artist
Fender American Standard Telecaster

Amps:

Framus Cobra
Marshall JCM800 2203 - 1960A

Pedals:

Crybaby 535Q
Rockbox Boiling Point Overdrive
Do not under any circumstances get an MT-2. You will surely receive a few recommendations for this pedal, but I can assure that it is an utter piece of crap. The struggle to find an even decent setting without tones of hiss and without a thin sound is never ending. PLEASE heed my advice, don't make the mistake I made many years ago!

That being said I'd look into two different pedals. First the big muff pi overdrive. It is very smooth sounding blend of old and new tones. It also has incredible sustain and can provide a fuzz (milder than a stand alone fuzz pedal). It works perfectly for me for the solo to Paranoid when it is in front of another distortion pedal....

Fulltone GT-500. I believe if I had to have only one distortion pedal, this would be it. It features two channels, a boost and distortion. Both of which are very versatile, ranging from a clean boost to mild overdrive, and the distortion channel goes from medium distortion to pretty heavy (not quite metallic-ish but close, I play whiskey in a jar with it and sound pretty good).

I'm sure there are tons more options, this is just a starting point.
Suhr Custom, Flaxwood Rautia or Grosh Tele thru
HBE Medicine Bawl Wah
Analogman BiComp
Texas Two Step OD
Fulltone Ultimate Octave/Fuzz
Boss CE-2
TC Nova Delay