OK everyone,
I'm still quite new to all this and was advised that I should dump my floor stands as wall mounts lessen the chance of a guitar lossing it tuning (I thought that just happened anyway?) due to the neck of the guitar been pulled (forward) by the strings (is that still the case I thought that only happened with very old guitars?).
What's everyone's thoughts?
Last edited by captainflimflam at Apr 8, 2008,
That sounds like a load of bull to me, but I've never really taken the time to study the differences. I have a wall mount and a floor stand, and the main advantage of having it on the wall to me if keeping it out of the way and giving me more floor space. Then again you have to be careful with putting guitars in because it's a long way to fall.
A dwarf might hear you. What then?

My Music
pfft

all floor stands are different, and even in a wall mount there's te whole guitars weight stretching the neck

the difference between the two is negligable

the amount of tuning loss is negligable

its not that hard to retune a few cents. just dont cheap out and buy a stand which will melt the finish on your guitar
Get off this damn forum and play your damn guitar.
It seems more likely that hanging your guitar would have a bigger chance of messing up the tuning.

Just use whatever is more convenient.
whoo! a reply already :>
thanks timi, I'm always a little sceptical when hearing stuff that I know nothing about but doesn't feel like it ssense (would quailty music shops really sell floor stands if they were that bad?)
So I like to do a little homework. It's a bad personality trait of mine

I've found nothing on the net sofar though. Thanks for the heads up though. I had a bad experience with some rowdy mates and a mirror so I'm not keen on wall mounts to be honest. But I'll listen to others views
heheh! thanks guys (no worries Stevo I've got a nice padded stand that probally better than the Electric guitar its holding up) :p