Is there a certain spot I should be trying to get my string on the fretboard like 2 strings above or below the bending string? Thanks
"You've got to trust your instinct
And let go of regret
You've got to bet on yourself now star
'Cause that's your best bet" - 311
Hi.

Personnaly, I suggest you use two-finger of the left-hand when you attempt to do a 2's bend. Putting the finger with the most impact on the note you want to bend and another 1 fret above.

It should give you more ...."grip" and strengh to perform the bend.
When you're bending up a tone on the B string, the string should roughly come to the middle of the fretboard on the fret that you're bending up to, but it's better to judge by ear than sight.
ok I think im getting it cause I am not new to guitars, but im self taught and never really got around to bending well, but i am learning the Stairway to Heaven solo and the bends are very important in this solo as I am sure yall know it was not sounding right on the bends ecspecially the fast part. thank you more tips would be helpful as well thank you im going to eat breakfast so if i dont respond right away thanks
"You've got to trust your instinct
And let go of regret
You've got to bet on yourself now star
'Cause that's your best bet" - 311
You can't gauge it physically - you have to let your ears tell you when you've bent the note to the right place.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
^yep, a good way to practice is to use unison bends. like..

-----------5-------
--5-------8b10---
--7b9-------------
--------------------
--------------------
--------------------

The bent note should sound exactly the same as the fretted note one string below. This way you can hear very clearly how accurate your bends are
Quote by steven seagull