Hello everyone. Before going on, I would like to of say, I went to wikipedia, used the search function(but I have trouble sifting through multiple english) and google both before posting these questions, and while they were very technical, there is more to equipment than just how many watts it has or what materials it is made with. I have been practicing for a few months, and am looking to keep up guitar, and other than theory, learning which equipment to use is the hardest part of guitar for me. Basically, I would just like to know what exactly the following do, if I would need them(I play a rock/metal/and am looking to also add a sort of sound effects playing, like, imitating screams electronic and interesting noises), and any suggestions for someone on a small budget. Any help is appreciated, especially from seasoned players.

Wah wah pedal - from what I know, it boosts something called gain, and, not sure if this is true but is what I was told, basically raises the pitch by stepping on the pedal.

EQ - Well, I suppose from what I read, it would maybe, make it sound of cleaner?

Chorus pedal - I read that it makes.. a multiple guitar sounding effect maybe?

Distortion - Now, I allready have a distortion pedal, it is not that great, because I bought it from target

Overdrive pedal - my cruddy amp has an overdrive, but I can not really tell the difference between that and of distortion

{EDIT}
I would also like to know what a Noise gate is please

and the last question I have, is when using all of these, do they chain together, are they separate devices?
Once again, help is appreciated.
J Rocker
Last edited by SakuraInjektion at Apr 9, 2008,
Wah wah pedal - from what I know, it boosts something called gain, and, not sure if this is true but is what I was told, basically raises the pitch by stepping on the pedal.

yes basically thats what it does. it is used to add expression to playing and can in some cases boost your gain/distortion