The concealed weapon thread jarred my memory, and I figured I would share a funny story from my own life. This could get lengthy...I've never tried to commit it to writing before.

First, let me do some character building. My wife's uncle, let's call him Bob, recently married in to the family. He and my aunt-in-law married late, and now have two young children. They also own and operate a small business so needless to say, life is very stressful for them. He routinely drinks at family gatherings, and seems to have taken a particular liking to me. Maybe because I'm also married in to my wife's family, but that's neither here nor there.

On one occasion, I believe at my sister-in-law's wedding, he was hammered and talking to a small group of people about how he tried to sell his business as a franchise and ended up getting ripped off by the potential buyers. One by one people wandered away from the conversation until it was just him and I. We were outside away from the hustle and bustle and he began to explain to me that he was going to get some of his friends together and break this guy's knees.

Oh, did I mention that he is also a retired Navy Seal, and possesses a license to carry a concealed weapon?

On with the story:

Every Christmas we spend the day before with my wife's extended family. Bob was there with his wife and two kids as well as a swarm of other family members. The day was winding down and many people had left, and my wife and I were saying our good-byes as well. Bob decided that they should leave with us since they were parked behind us in the drive way. My wife got in our car and his wife fought to get their kids situated in their vehicle when Bob whispered to me in a slightly drunken slur, "Hey come here and check this out". Kind of awkward considering he said this while reaching in to his pants, but what was I going to do, say no? Well, out came a small handgun which he clumsily handled, pointing the barrel at me a few times.