Page 1 of 2
So I bought this Marshall MG 100DFX Combo Amp. Its alright. Got a hell of a deal on it, $350 at Guitars Etc.

However, I can barely get it to 2 on the volume knob when I play at home. It is mega loud. Is this thing overkill? Im a beginner, that just plays at home.

The only thing Im really interested in playing currently is heavy stuff like Slayer and old Metallica. The OD2 channel on this is decent, but not quite there.

I have a few days to return it if I want. Could I have get something smaller, cheaper, better sounding with more options on it? Or should I stick with this?

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks,
Swami
Return it and you can get something MUCH better
Quote by Pookie6
Yngwi3, You win this whole monstrosity of a thread.

Quote by uk.mace
For the best tingle, use Original Source mint. That shit feels amazing on your balls.

Godfather of The Diezel Mafia
Return it and get something that isn't horrendous.
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
maybe you arent allowed to play very loud at home, but i have my 100w valve amps on 3-5.....

take it back - people arent flaming - but for 350bucks, you can get better...
i would say take it back and get something better. maybe a peavey valveking if you can afford it.
I'm a Mormon.

Gear:
Schecter C-1+
Kustom Tube 12-A
Digitech Hardwire Tube Overdrive
I'd say take it back and ask for compensation from the wages of the guy/girl that sold it to you under the false pretence that it was actually an amplifier, and not just a box that turns a guitar signal into fuzzy, tinny, $h1t.

Take it back, try a Roland Cube 30 or if you want alittle more bang for your buck volume-wise for future use, the Cube 60.
Quote by Swami
Could I have get something smaller, cheaper, better sounding with more options on it? Or should I stick with this?