Well, I'm rather unsure about my options for years 10 and 11, so I've come to the pit for help. I don't know whether I should take music or not (we have to write and perform 2 pieces of music we wrote and also do a group piece). I'm a self taught guitarist, and have been playing for around a year, my skills are improving at a fast pace. I heard we have to do a bit of theory somewhere, too. So I'm reading through this.

So, pit, what are your experiences with the music GCSE? What is required? And will theory help me as much as I think it will?

Thanks (:
I would also like to know this.

I've just handed in my options form and I've taken music so yeah.
If its bad I'm stuck with it
Girls exist on UG.
You're the same as me, I picked it. Its good.
Quote by -BlackZeppelin-
Psh. I can can play fleshlight acoustically.

*masturbates*
I got a C and I'm not very good. You seem confident in your skills, you should maybe give it a shot.
i picked it .... was best GCSE descision i made ..... that and pot.... but anyways yeah go for it not hard to pass n ull have fun plus it opens loads of doors for ure A levels
Sometimes the only friends you have are guitars n beer =D
from past experiences of my friends ( i didnt take it) it seemed pretty **** and totally pointless but ur school mite be better so good luck
Quote by spyriadon
i picked it .... was best GCSE descision i made ..... that and pot.... but anyways yeah go for it not hard to pass n ull have fun plus it opens loads of doors for ure A levels

u took pot for gcse? which sylibus is ur school using??!
I'm in Year 11, about 2 months away from my exam.

I found it to not be a theory-orientated as I'd feared, so that's a plus, and I've picked up basic theory along the way. However, this doesn't mean that there isn't a lot of theory to do.

The compositions and performances are a doss, really.
We get around 2 months on 140 minutes a week to complete them, there's really no rush.