I've been playing for a little under 6 months and every now and then I sit down and practice nothing but pinch harmonics for about 20 minutes. I understand the concept of you lightly hit the string with your thumb after strumming, and that's exactly what I do, and I can't get the squeal sound. Any advice is appreciated.
ive been playing for 2.5 years and i still cant do them but they are getting better, just keep practicing
Jackson RR3
ESP LTD MH-250NT (EMG 81-85)
Peavey Valveking 100 Head
Harley Benton Cabnet
Blackstar Distx Valve Distortion
Boss DD3
Dunlop Cry Baby Wah
Ibanez Weeping Demon
Boss Noise-Gate
A Member Of The Jackson Players Group
There are different points on the strings u have to strum to get the pinch harmonics out so ur probs not hitting the right spot
Make Sure you move the point of your pick attack around. There are only certain spots (Harmonic Nodes) that you can pick on the string to cause a pinch harmonic. If that's your problem you should get it pretty fast.
Also be sure to use your bridge pick-up when you're first beginning. It makes it much easier to get the squeal.
i started getting them when i got my BC rich...it's probly the action i have on it
Quote by Wrst_Plyr_Evr
I beat my wife

Beating yea bi
yeah what i do is around the bridge pickup
like if you were palm muting thats the
perfect position to do pinch harmnics
ive got them perfect that way
also
if you using only 1 pickup it will work
but if your usig both pickups it wont work
the bridge pickup words incredibaly well with pinch harmonics
also a good amount of treble and gain will make them really stick out as they should in my style of music
i've been using my single coil pickup, i guess that's why

i ordered a new guitar (ict700!) so when that comes i'll try to nail them w/ the bridge pickup.

thanks everyone
Last edited by nouOU at Apr 10, 2008,
it will work on a single coil, i learned on a starter pack strat. i have modded it now though...