Okay i'm a third year player and fairly experienced. My parents are offering to get me a guitar and i get to "help" choose, and since it's only my second guitar (my first is a squier strat) i'm not very experienced in the choosing of a new one, though i have a few specs.
I LOVE the SG's they are the best for me i believe after i've spent hours in guitar shops testing numerous varieties. i also would like a Floyd Rose trem because my band mixes classic rock style (think Boston and Kansas) with new metal (think Dragonforce) and it would allow me to go so far beyond bending strings. My favorite combo of PUs tonally is like either an SG-3 or SG Special Faded 3 way pickup. i've seen an ESP LTD Viper w/a Floyd Rose but idk about the pickups. i really want to kno if anyone has any suggestions as to what guitar i should look into, im not just thinking strictly SG here either, good imitators like the ESP LTD Viper are also wanted.
(just as a sidenote my fav paintjob is the Fireburst design on the SG SUPREME, but i also have a strong feeling my dad could buy a white guitar and then get a custom paintjob)
Amp? I'd suggest S2170 or LTD Eclipse EC1000.
No man is your friend, no man is your enemy, but every man is your teacher.

When he asked for John Myung, John Myung said:"Who the hell is John Myung?"

Proud User of Ibanez, Korg, Rocktron, ENGL
Ibanez RG prestige or S series are always good, as are ESP MH series, and Schecter Hellraiser FR's.

Yes, we would like to know what type of amp you have. Good amp with decent guitar>bad amp with great guitar.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden