as im new to tube amps, and have been playing through the same two solid states for 7 years due to having no money to afford a tube amp or any new gear for that matter, im am pretty in the dark with tube amps.

now i was looking at the epiphone So Cal tube head and while looking through the specs i found that it had a solid state rectifier....

heres the link anyways:http://www.guitar.com.au/amplifiers/electric/epiphone/So-Cal50H.htm

also any ideas or thoughts on the amp???

It seems like a very nice amp, although I haven't tried one yet.

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Solder fume huffer σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Electronic Audio Experiments
it is normal.

I'm not a big fan of that amp at all.
My Gear
Guitars:
-Gibson Les Paul Studio
-Ibanez "lawsuit" Les Paul
-Ibanez S470
-PRS SE Custom

Amp:
Marshall TSL100
Marshall 1960a cab

Effects:
Dunlop 535q wah
Visual Sound Liquid Chorus

Pickups:
Guitarforce
MHD
A solid state rectifier vs. tube rectifier doesn't influence the tone that much, since it isn't part of the signal path. The difference is, that with the tube rectifier (you can search for the reason why, can't remember exactly) the tube causes "tube sag" that is sort of a slight volume swell or something along those lines I believe. It's sort of a vintage-ish thing I think. Solid state rectifiers cause a more sharp attack.

But the difference is pretty small I believe.
Quote by Lunchbox362
This thread if fail in almost every way imaniganable.
Consider that even really high end amp manufacturers like Diezel and Soldano use solid state rectifiers.

The So-Cal is actually really good for a certain sound, think Cream era Clapton but a bit more American sounding. It takes pedals quite well and has a pretty good clean channel. The stock reverb is a hunk of garbage though. My room mate has one and it gets quite a bit of use. Do note that if you aren't looking for that particular sound, you'll probably end up disliking the amp.
ESP LTD EC-256 and a Fender Deluxe VM