I've been playing electric guitar for a few years and recently got an acoustic. I'm starting to teach myself to play piano and I'm interested in the idea of bass guitar. So first, does the same music theory I've learned on the guitar (like chord construction, circle of fifths) apply to other instruments? And any suggestions for instruments I might want to learn?
Play the music, not the instrument. ~Author Unknown

blackzeppelion
Who's the band that could become the next led zeppelin?
Ovenman
Iron blimp.
J.A.M
Aluminum helicopter.
Ovenman
*Breaks out periodic table* Magnesium bi-plane.
yes it applies!, i play drums, keys, guitar, violin and bass and im just 16
Ivan!

Proghead+Metalhead= ME

||||||||||||||||||||
||||||||||||||||||||
||||||||||||||||||||

URL=http://groups.ultimate-guitar.com/ar gentina
Anything you want to learn. The more instruments you play the better at other instruments you'll be.
Unfortunately I can't play the drums (no space/too much noise). That's where I got the idea of bass guitar - it's rhythmic and I already have the knowledge of guitars.

blackzeppelion
Ovenman
Iron blimp.
J.A.M
Aluminum helicopter.
Ovenman
Yeah man. I've been playing the electric for about 3 years now, and I've just picked up the classical a few months ago. Playing electric helped with playing cleanly on the classical, and likewise for the electric. I'm about to pick up the bass, and dust off my old keyboard. But to answer your question, like said before, theory is universal. Applies everywhere. Except drums. Cause, you know, they don't really have notes...

You should learn the mandolin and the banjo that's what I'm gonna do, sooner or later
My gear:
Schecter C-1+ w/ Seymour duncan Jazz (neck) and Full Shred (bridge), with Sperzels
B-52 LG-100A 4x12 half stack
Rogue LX405 Bass
Yamaha classical
Some sort of acoustic Squier
Boss Flanger
Lyon Chorus