Hey guys, I've been thinkin about gettin a new guitar for a while, and although I thought I figured out which one, I'm kinda having second thoughts to it. I've been playing for just over two years, and I have the same crappy starter-pack guitar from the begining. I bought a new amp (Roland Cube 60) relatively recently, and have saved up some money for a new guitar now.

I had always been set on a Epiphone Les Paul Custom, because I played quite a few of them and they were really nice... Its just that recently I started to branch off in the genre I want to play, and I'm not sure if another guitar would suit my needs better.

I originally set out to play classic rock, which would be fine for the LP, but ever since getting into more shred music (Petrucci and Gilbert mostly) I've realized that its the music I would really like to play. That being said, I'm not a great shredder yet, but have improved significantly over the last few months. I don't listen to metal really, pretty much just instrumental shred. So I'm wondering what guitar could I get that would be suitable for that, but also versatile enough to play classic or alternative rock (foo fighters mostly)

I'll have around 600-700 USD to spend, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
An Ibanez S470DXQM sounds like the perfect guitar for you. They are designed for shredding, but they are still versatile enough to handle just about any genre.
Heads will roll. Throats will be slit. Blood will flow like springs of water.
I was the same way. I likes ESP, epiphone and schecter, but when I was handed a JAckson, I was blown away. It has a great feel to the neck and an awesome sound. This guitar is technicaly a metal solo guitar, but it'll work for music from rock to metal.
SDooper Man

Guitars
-Jackson DK2M
-Pignose
-Washburn accoustic

Amps
-Fender Frontman 25w DSP
-Roland Micro-Cube

Effects
-Digitech:Hot Head
-Digitech:Black 13
-Vinci: wah