Hello everybody. This is my first time here on Ultimate Guitar and i´m from Portugal. Im writing this post because my parents are going to USA in May and so is my birthday...you can guess the rest...I was thinkin in ask them to bring me a guitar, but i may have a problem...The Custom. Do you know if i can bring a guitar to Portugal without problems?
Thanks a lot

PS: Its a Les Pauls

ps: if you know something...could uou post the place where my parents can confirm that.
I don't think you'll have problems but most likely you will need to pay customs + tax, which depending on the country can be 15-25% of the value of the guitar.
Jackson KV 2, Jackson COW 7 (both in B), Jackson Demmelition V
Bogner Überschall (blue rev)
Marshall 1960B Vintage (2x V30 & 2x G12T75)
TC Electronic G Major
BBE Sonic Maximizer 422A
Weber Mass 150w
ISP ProRackG
T.Racks Dinopower
also it's not certain that they can take it to the planes cabin, so make sure they buy a hardcase if it's going to be with the rest of the luggage.

btw. les pauls often come with hardcases so there shouldnt be a problem.
Quote by Ventor
I don't think you'll have problems but most likely you will need to pay customs + tax, which depending on the country can be 15-25% of the value of the guitar.

The problem is that i want to save money and those 30% would ruin my plane...

I justdont know is this differance between prices so big...
Quote by Burguete
The problem is that i want to save money and those 30% would ruin my plane...

I justdont know is this differance between prices so big...

You will still save money because you won't have to pay shipping.
If I buy a guitar in the States and have it shipped to Belgium it costs me about as much in euro's as the price in dollars including shipping & tax. So a $1000 guitar would cost me about € 1000. You could also check out shops in the UK, they're cheaper than on the mainland because of the weak GBP.
TC Electronic G Major
BBE Sonic Maximizer 422A
Weber Mass 150w