Hi

Ive been playing for nearly 2 years now and i am a fairly good player, not the best, but im pretty good at rock and blues playing. However i want to learn to shred properly to add a new dimension to my playing, and i need some help of how to go about it, like a schedule almost.
for example:
15 mins scale runs (slow)
5 min speed burst
10 mins sweep picking
etc

Could anyone help me out here? And how much should i practise shredding a day? Any easy songs I could try out this technique on to start of with?
Thanks!
Shredding is quite a vague concept so its difficult to suggest any particular methods, what you could do is practice legato patterns with scales as to build up the speed of your fretting hand, once you get fast at legato you can start to work on alterate picking the notes for the shred style tone.
tbh its mostly down to how much time you've got. Just learn the 7 modes (maybe take one every week, or fortnight) and practice them slowly at first, then build up. Also, try to avoid just playing them up and down, http://www.justinguitar.com/en/SC-022-MajMelPat.php that contains some very usefull tips.

basically you just want to build up the speed at which you can play the scales, but it wont happen overnight!
Quote by griffRG7321
become a circumsizer, you get like £60,000 a year + tips.

Quote by Flying Couch
Because I'm not aerodynamic. All the other airborne furniture laugh at me.

LIKE PORTISHEAD?
Practice with a metronome, and gradually build your speed. I don't really follow a schedule, just do what i feel i need to work on. I started with just straight scale runs, and then went on to other techniques, like sweeping and tapping.

Start with some Metallica solos or something. or some easy Satch stuff.
Quote by TeraBite
just go up and down scales, getting faster and faster, thats kinda how i did it

That's a surefire way to become a boring, monotonous guitarist.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62