Ok, Here's the deal. Please take the time to read through this as hard as it may be cause i need help and advice badly. I've been playing for about five months. I've enjoyed every minute of it but I have a question. It may be stupid and you guys may call me whatever. I had a teacher until about a month or two ago. He had a stroke and he is expected to make a full recovery. He is around and about again but i spoke with him and he said he wasn't going to be able to teach for a while. I'm fine with it because i want him to take all the time he needs to recover. I started looking for another teacher and i found one through a newspaper ad. Long story short, the new guy is friends with my old teacher and he indirectly told me he didn't want to teach me. Now im stuck without a teacher. I live in a really small town so teachers are hard to come by. I've been practicing the basics like chords and scales and working on a few songs. I love the guitar and i so desperately want to become proficient at it. I know these things take time and I am strapped in for the journey all the way but i have a question. You guys may or may not like Mattrach, the young guitarist on youtube but i do. I'm not a big shred fan but i like a couple of his songs. Im more of a fan of his proficiency. Is it realistic for me to be able to play about his level within about 5 years? I don't necessarily have to be on his level but in the ballpark would be nice. Would this be a realistic time frame? I know it's hard to put a time on these things but what is the general consensus? Thanks alot
My advice is to learn some songs, and look up lessons (there's heaps on this site, I like the Kristofer Dahl ones especially) until your teacher is able to teach again. I'm not sure who Mattrach is, but as for getting into his skill level in about 5 years time all comes down to how much practise you do. Simply, the more practise you do, the better you get.
New To Town With A Made Up Name

In The Angel's City