hi
will someone tell me what is the scale and key of this progression
Bm- A - G - Gb - Bm - GB - G - Gb - Bm
they are all in barre form
i think the key is B but can not find fitted scale
It's almost Bm, but for the presence of the major third in the Gb, which is the augmented fifth of Bm.

In terms of a scale to fit, you could play B minor over most of the progression (the tendency will be to resolve to the B anyway), and either avoid playing the 7th of the scale over the Gb maj (VERY dissonant diminished second interval against the A# in Gb maj), and sub in the natural 7th (the A# that matches up with the Gb maj). So you'd basically be playing in the Bm scale, but using the Gb maj chord tones over the Gb maj.

Hope this make sense, I'm still new to this theory business
Last edited by elgalad at Apr 14, 2008,
Quote by Aaron_Yeo
Either B Minor or Gb Phrygian (but probably just B Minor).

Yep, Gb phrygian will work, but if you're resolving toward the B, then is it really Gb phrygian? I'm tending to towards no, but I'm not sure.
Quote by dimebag1d
thanks so much
but that Gb some how does not fit to b minor
am i wrong?

No, you're spot on.

The Gb has an A# in it, whereas the B minor scale has an A (no A#)
Call Gb F#. Then it is a very common minor progression involving the i, VII, and VI chords, which are completely within the B Natural Minor scale, and the commonly used Major V chord, which implies the B Harmonic Minor scale. This kind of thing is very common; in fact, it would be unusual to play the minor v chord rather than the major V chord.

Bm-i
A-VII
G-VI
F#-V

Yes, Gb and F# have the same pitch. In fact, F# is the more correct name here.
so is this progression technically okay?
though it sounds okay while playing
can you describe it a little
thanks
Quote by bangoodcharlote