Well, I'm planning on upgrading a guitar. I've never done this before, so I feel like it will be a good way to learn. The guitar I am upgrading is a Les Paul Special 2. I know, it's a giant piece of crap. But it's my giant piece of crap, and I want it to be me slightly-less-crappy piece of crap. It's my first guitar, and I want to be able to go back and play it 10 years from now, and have it sound some-what decent.

Anyways, I'm planning some simple upgrades to make it more playable, and maybe a little easier on the eyes. First thing first, I'm going to fit it with 2 chrome, overwound humbuckers. Then I'm planning on putting on some gold wilkonson locking tuners, to keep it in tune better. Then I'll replace the bridge and tailpiece with gold gibson ones. I want to put some strap locks on it, then screw on a black pickguard. I'll probably also throw some gold knobs on there.

Now, I have 3 questions. First, could a complete novice remove a set of humbuckers, then put in 2 new ones, using only a wiring diagram and a soldering iron? Second, would it be possible to screw a pickguard to a special 2 (it's flat top, and has no holes to do it. I'd have to screw it in myself)? And third, would gold hardware and a black pickguard look good on a heritage sunburst les paul special 2?

It's that guitar.

Ps- I know normally replacing pickups doesn't make a huge difference, but in this case, I think it will. I'm going from probably the crappiest pickups on the market, to a good mid-range set. I'm also playing through a nice tube amp (above).
Nice amp there. Never seen a 3-speaker amp before. All the hardware upgrades would do the guitar alot of good i think. You should be able to take out the pickups fairly easily. I would get new pots, caps, etc. Would improve the sound even more with the new pickups. And yea, you could put a LP Jr. or LP Sepcial pickgard on it, i think it would look good if you went to a single-pickup Jr.-style guitar with a tortise-shell pickguard.