Hey!
I'm building a custom guitar and I wonder if it's possible to have a floyd rose without the locking nut and still retain tuning stability?

Greetings Martin
I think not
but hey I'm a bassist what do I know about all the fancy guitar things :P
Quote by NoobMuncher3000
BRILLIANT!

Quote by weemansyndrome

(__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
It depends on what you are doing really.. some guitarists don't have a locking nut because they only use flutters and that type of thing. Now, if you're going to be dive-bombing everywhere, you'll need one.
Nope, theres a reason why they sell the Floyd with a locking nut You're probably trying to avoid getting the neck routed for a Floyd nut huh? Yea no way around it really, gotta get it done
2003 Music Man Axis Pacific Blue Burst
all carvin's guitars now have locking tuners instead of a locking nut. same with petrucci's ebmm.
Yes, the locking nut is an option on Carvin's and Chris Broderick doesn't have one on his sexy Ibanez RGA-7. You shouldn't need one if you only use the trem for minor dives and what not. If you pretend to be Vai get one
Quote by DSOTM80
Nope, theres a reason why they sell the Floyd with a locking nut You're probably trying to avoid getting the neck routed for a Floyd nut huh? Yea no way around it really, gotta get it done

Yeah that's realy the thing I already got locking tuners so is the nut realy necesary?
Quote by marremarteng
Yeah that's realy the thing I already got locking tuners so is the nut realy necesary?

I'd get the neck routed. You don't have to have it drilled for the neck through screws if you don't want which will cost less. Do you already have the neck or getting one made? If you're getting one made then get it routed for a Floyd nut. If you already have the neck then make sure its done by someone who knows what they are doing, if they route it in the wrong place poof there goes your neck.