I was pondering whether I should get this guitar or a Squier Standard Fat Strat..

I like the way Stratocasters look and I've seen and played with the Squier and it looks beautiful. I think I tested a faulty one though (even though it just came out of the box) since the frets were a bit too sharp on the lower side of the neck and there was some fret buzz. This may have had something to do with the strings, since they were stock ones and some of them were even rusted.
But like I said I love the shape of this thing...

About the Ibanez SA 160... it plays very easily. Chords were easier to pull off (I'm a beginner) and it felt as if the strings were easier to press in. I think the Squier needed to be set up properly. I like the flat neck of the Ibanez. But the thing I'm worried about is... will I be able to play more 'clean' stuff on this guitar? I listen to a lot of Iron Maiden and it's kind and am worried that the Ibanez is more suited for the 'heavier' types of Metal with lots of distortion. I'm more of a fan of the typical 80's Metal sound. Think about the sound on the Somewhere In Time album.

I think the Squier would be much more versatile and suited better for my musical taste, but feel like the Ibanez is of better quality and will be easier to play.
Even though I will play distorted stuff too, my main preference is a clean sound.

Can you guys give me some insight on this?
Quote by webbtje
90% of your tone comes from your amp. That SA > any squier too.

+1 the ibanez is an all around guitar you can play anything with it. the sound it makes can change, all you need is the right amp.
Quote by horny_cactus
Who's Rick Roll? Sorry for my ignorance I just joined this forum so I don't yet Know that member.
I'm actually selling my SA160 if you want.

It's a great guitar for the price, and I've taken extremely good care of mine.

Let me know if you're interested.