I was wondering if its a bad thing to try playing lead before mastering rhythm. I've been playing for about 10 months now, and I can play most of the major and minor chords, and I am decent at barre chords. I can play a bunch of rhythms, but I still make a few mistakes here and there in the chord switchings. However, I feel that I like playing solos, appregios, and scales much more than chords, so I've been practicing those much more than chords lately. Is this jumping the gun too soon? Should I completely master rhythm before I even think of playing lead, or is it okay to try to play both?
There's nothing wrong with venturing into lead guitar, but I'd really advise that you make sure to maintain your rhythmic practice. Your lead playing will suffer if you can't keep a steady beat. If you haven't already, it'd help immensely to be able to count musical rhythms. If you can't play certain rhythms correctly slow them down as much as you must to play them correctly. Just my opinion, hope this helps.
Quote by silvadolla
There's nothing wrong with venturing into lead guitar, but I'd really advise that you make sure to maintain your rhythmic practice. Your lead playing will suffer if you can't keep a steady beat. If you haven't already, it'd help immensely to be able to count musical rhythms. If you can't play certain rhythms correctly slow them down as much as you must to play them correctly. Just my opinion, hope this helps.

What do you mean by counting musical rhythms? Well, I use a metronome when I do my daily finger exercises. That should help right?
Quote by killatm
What do you mean by counting musical rhythms? Well, I use a metronome when I do my daily finger exercises. That should help right?

definitely, i meant like being able to differentiate between quarter notes, eighth notes, half notes, whole notes, etc. It helps immensely.
Quote by silvadolla