I've been playing electric/acoustic guitar for about 2 years and it's been pretty much an on and off thing, a tab here, a tab there, but I'm not making any real progress. I just want to hunker down and start practicing the basics, I want to build my speed and accuracy playing single notes(arpeggios, solos, etc.). Where's a good place to start practicing from scratch?
He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you... - Abomino Aetas
to get some exercises and start practicing scales and whatnot check out the music theory thread in the musicians section it has shteez like that
Gear:
Gibson Explorer, Wine red Natural finish
Hughes and Kettner Vortex Black series, Half stack
Peavey Stereo Chorus 400
Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff
As much as it hurts, start with the goold theory. In my opinion if you truly want to "hunker down" as you say, and become a better musician, theory will greatly help you out. Learn, modes, scale degrees, chord progression stuff and try putting it into practice. If you want to make your own solo's that is. Improvisation is truly th ekey to good guitar playing, if your just wanting to build speed and become good at solos you want to learn, then practice scales, people say pentatonic are good scales to learn on but whatever tingles your pringles.
Start with some incredibly easy songs with some good picking exercises in them, that way, you're learning a certain technique while learning a song too, which will give you ideas for future compositions and further your technical ability.

I don't really know what to suggest because I don't know what you play.
Quote by slayerbizkit