Page 1 of 2
im kinda new to playing bass (since late 2007)and i was wondering how exactly to do gallops in finger style like if ther is a special technique or if i just have to practice more (i can play fairly fast as i play rage agianst the machine witch some songs are as fast as some iron maiden)

also while im on the topic what are some good songs to start on for gallops (im thinking muse or iron maiden but there might be something with less note changes)barracuda by heart is gallops to isnt it?

one more thing i also sing for my band and was wondering if anyone has any tips on being able to play and sing at the same time
Last edited by everything_rock at Apr 19, 2008,
It's just a matter of slowing it down, getting it clean (cleanliness is important) and speeding it up.

It took me a good couple weeks to really get down the 8th 16th 16th gallops going.

So yeah, as with many things, take it slow and work it up

EDIT: didn't feel like reposting... (while on the subject of gallops) Does anyone know how many fingers Steve Harris uses? I've heard 2 or 3... But I saw a DVD of Iron Maiden and his whole hand is just going ****ing nuts and I'm not sure if it's 2, 3, or 4
Quote by Banjocal
sht up u flthy librl foogit stfu u soo mad n butthurdt ur ass is an analpocolypse cuz ur so gay "my ass hrts so mcuh" - u. your rectally vexed n anlly angushed lolo go bck 2 asslnd lolol
Last edited by King Of Suede at Apr 17, 2008,
[quote="(i can play fairly fast as i play rage agianst the machine and fall out boy)[/QUOTE"]
two bands that should never be in the same sentence
I personally use the three finger approach, with my index finger playing the 8th note, and the middle and ring fingers playing the 16ths. However, it is very possible with only 2 fingers, just requires practice both ways.
Last edited by Deliriumbassist at Apr 19, 2008,