ok so im pretty much tone deaf, i was when i started playing guitar and im pretty sure i still am.
iv been playing for about 3/4 years and have been learning from tabs on this site and in magazines etc.

recently however i couldnt find a tab i wanted to a pretty simple song (yearnin by the black keys) so i sat down with the record and figured it out in a few hours.
so obviously i was well pleased as i love the song and have been wanting to be able to play it but the fact there was no tab i had convinced myself i would never learn it.
thing is this past month ever since then, when im listening things (admittadly simple songs) mainly blues (r l burnside/the black keys/jr kimbrough etc), i can sit down and have the song worked out in a few hours.

iv done this for about 6 songs this month, some of them have been tabbed on here and iv checked afterwards and iv been correct (with the odd mistake here and there).
i no the songs iv worked out so far have been simple (3 or 4 chords with quite repetative riffs) but considering the past 3 years the closest ive ever come to figuring a song out by ear was accidently playing the riff from smoke on the water when trying to play something else im pretty pleased with my progress.

i was wondering though has this happened to any one else on here?

it seems to have come out of no were and im wondering if this is just a bit of a fluke or if it was just a lack of confidence/patience and once i worked out one i had the confidence to try others?

is this just a by product of playing the guitar for 3/4 years and slowly learning how to play the thing/understand how it works instead of just been spoon fed techniques and tabs?

im not sure about any of those questions but i feel like iv made big progress this month in my guitar playing and understanding and just figured id see if any one else had an opinion on this sort of thing.
Being tone deaf is pretty much God's way of saying you won't be a musician.