Hi everyone, im looking to build my first guitar this summer, im just trying to understand the size of this project as well as getting as much info as i can. im thinking of building a strat first from bought parts,
http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Bodies,_necks,_wood/Electric_guitar:_Bodies/Strat_Bodies.html

thats my planned body i just wondered if it will be ok being a universal fit having all that extra space around with acoustics and all just wondered if it will sound ok, also im going to get the neck from the same place.

painting shouldn't be a problem my dad used to spray cars with the same stuff so i can get a nice job done there. also wondered what pickups to go for, hum bucker's or singles and what tremolo, i dont have loads to spend but i want to get a good sound, ill be playing a range of music as im still learning but plan to put it through a lot of effects as i like messing around with the different sounds.

I think thats about it unless anyone needs any more info, also im in the UK if that effects prices or product availability. thanks for anyone who takes the time to reply.

InfernoUk
shouldn't be any problem having the universal fit, if anything it'll allow you to go back and change pickups without having to re-rout anything.

just the standard three single coils in a strat can be fairly versatile, but you could think about putting in a coil-splittable humbucker in the bridge for that extra bit of umph that you dont get from singles (coil split so you can still get the single coil bridge tone if you want it). not sure about the tremelo, you'll have to wait for someone with more knowledge than i to help you with that.
This kind of swimming pool cavity makes you guitar sound a bit more hollow. Some squiers have the same kind of body. Not that it's bad or anything, just less wood so it won't sound exactly like the typical fender strat.
Yamaha RGX 520FZ
Squier Affinitys Strat (customized!)
Johnson 620 Player Acoustic

Boss HM3 hyper metal