I'm a noob, basically learning on my own for about 3-4 months. I can play the basics, switch chords about 90% speed, can play barre chords. I can't say I can play any song "completely" but I mess around with alot of different songs.

My recent situation - it seems like everything I play sounds like crap to me.
I don't really know if it sounds better than I think, I don't really know people who play guitar that live anywhere close to me. I work overnights - I've tried to schedule lessons, but people want a weekly committment, and it is hard for me to make a lesson when I need to sleep.

This morning - I try to play Jimmy Eat World - Hear You Me (capo 2). Can play the chords and basically follow the strumming - after the D chord, the high e string sounds really twangy and louder than all the others. it seems to overpower the other strings and I am not strumming it any harder. Makes the 320030 chord sound bad. Is it strumming/pic/capo/strings or just supposed to sound like that? I use either 0.60 or 0.73 pics, daddario 16 strings.

The other - I try to play Grey Street by DMB. Playing that chord (7x07)rythym progression the d string just resonates/buzzes and it sounds like crap to me.

I'm getting discouraged. should i just play everything down 1/2 step?

any suggestions/advice?
slow the song down, instead of trying to play the song up to speed, try to play the songs well. even if it means slowing the song down, make sure all notes ring properly, no notes buzz. practice slowly and gradually build up speed. it is better than just aiming to play the song at its recorded speed. think accuracy over speed
Quote by FrenchyFungus

Awww, thanks Frenchy

Quote by Cobain_Is_King
I got a packet of Love Hearts when I was six and every one said 'You Have a Tiny Penis'

Hate humans? Click here