I am a classical guitarist with a major problem. Any time I try to make a barre chord, I get an INCREDIBLE amount of tension in my left hand and wrist, even when I'm completely 100% relaxed. This prevents me from playing ANY barre chord without causing myself an enormous amount of pain. Like, seriously tear-inducing pain. Like "somebody hit me in the hand with a lead pipe" pain. What's worse is after the barre the tension is so intense in my left hand that I cannot even form simple 2-finger chords without difficulty. Even now I cannot type well since I just played a barre piece. My left hand fingers currently feel like they have about as much dexterity as my toes. Basically, if a barre comes up in a piece I am screwed and cannot ever play that piece perfectly even after weeks and weeks of practicing it. How do I resolve this problem? I want to be able to just make barre chords without feeling pain.
Quote by CLVPX
Wow, SkyValley = Epic win.
Pain is your body's way of telling you that something is wrong or abnormal. Take a break. Go see a doctor if it continues. The pain in your arm doesn't sound normal(assuming that you really are 100% relaxed). If you keep pushing on, you could potentially damage your arm permanently if there is actually something wrong with it.
maybe carpel tunnel or whatever it is. how long have you been playing for? you might just not be used to it but you sound like youre experienced seeing as you spelled barre right (unlike most people here who claim to be good at guitar) so you should get that check out.
Quote by alexjulia
maybe carpel tunnel or whatever it is. how long have you been playing for? you might just not be used to it but you sound like youre experienced seeing as you spelled barre right (unlike most people here who claim to be good at guitar) so you should get that check out.

bar cords!