Hi everyone... pretty much my first post here.
As i'm (slowly) progressing as a guitarist, i'm seeing more and more gear that i like, and hope to buy.

But now that i'm actually getting a decent amount of hard cash, i need some advice about exactly what to buy.

Currently i have a Vintage Les Paul, cherry sunburst, and two practice amps (a Vox AD15VT and a Roland Cube 15). Although i like these amps, and the effects on the Vox, im looking to buy something i can plug into my PC, with plenty of amp sounds, and effects to maybe create some of my own favourite tones.
The only thing that i can see myself buying is the Line 6 Pod X3. It looks excellent, has everything i need, and even comes with the possibility of plugging in a second instrument or a microphone.
I've read the reviews and it sounds excellent. But is it worth the cash? Best price i have found is £230. Are there any other similar products?

Also, i really would like to buy a loop station. I've come up with a few simple rythms, and i would like to add some solo notes to them, and a loop station seems perfect for me. But i have no idea what to look for haha.
Which ones are the best? Preferably cheap :P

I was thinking of buying a half stack, but have decided against it. I've heard a few people have simply plugged in their Pod X3's into PA systems so a half stack doesnt seem worth the money yet anyway.

Any advice on other necessary gear would be welcome! Since i'll be going back to college after summer, i dont think i'll have a decent amount of money for long :P So i'm buying up now.

Anyway, thanks in advance for any replies.
Dan

EDIT: Sorry to sound really noobish...

But whats so special about a valve amp? I dont actually know what a valve amp has thats different to other amps :S

I play mainly metal, but also like to jam some indie and blues... Would a valve amp allow me to play all these? What are prices of valve amps? I think a good deal of research is required here haha...