I'm confused. I have two guitars (Don't bug me about them, I know they're crap)- a Squier Strat and some Japanese guitar resembling a strat- and both of them have lousy pickups. I got confused with the Japanese guitar (a Sekova, if anyone's ever heard of it), because I figured that the pickups would be nicer than that on my strat, and they were actually a lot worse. I'm just wondering if all guitar pickups pick up every single noise off the instrument (i don't mind the hum- I mind that whenever I play a song on a single string I hear all of the other strings vibrating.) This is getting really annoying because I can only play Green Day and other power chord songs on either guitar without sounding ridiculously bad, and I HATE Green Day. I'm wondering if most pickups have a similar problem, because I don't want to keep putting up with my guitars if all pickups are like that.
Thanks.
Newbs are dorks... oh wait, I'm a newb... shoot...

I DRINK YOUR MILKSHAKE!!!!!! I DRINK IT UP!!!

One of these smilies is mentally challenged
This may be a problem with your technique as much as bad pickups; if anything new, more sensitive, pickups will make the problem worse.

You need to work on your muting technique so you use your picking hand to mute the lower strings and your fret hand fingers to mute the higher strings.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Or get the super pickup 5000 that only picks up the sound you want it to.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
This may be a problem with your technique as much as bad pickups; if anything new, more sensitive, pickups will make the problem worse.

You need to work on your muting technique so you use your picking hand to mute the lower strings and your fret hand fingers to mute the higher strings.