Since im a noob when it comes to building gears and stuff, I've been quite confused with the one statement, "Is it ESSENTIAL to have an amp for the effects pedal to work?"
I was originally going for B-52 AT head + cab but, after some research, I got another option to buy a Boss GT-8 multi-effects pedal + cab! But what is the difference between the 2 options? Is the sound going to be different or something? Or the pedal + cab combination won't actually work?

I seriously need help bcoz I have no idea wat to do! I know a pedal + amp combo would work but if I replace the amp combo with just the cab, would it still work?

Thanks in advance! And sorry if its abit annoying!
Maybe you get a little bit of sound, but it will sond bad, and it is almost impossible to hear. The pedal gives your guitar signal some boost, but almost all the amplification is done in the head. AND without a head you won't get a clean sound. Just buy the head, or a combo, you really need it.
^ in order for you to play anything you need a head and a cab. (or a combo, which is both)
Nope, no sig here.
Quote by jam_shahzeb
so, in order for me to play a multi-effects pedal, i need a head + cab?

no ,you could use headphones with the multi-effects pedal
lol he was just thinking about buying a 100 watt tube head, I dont think thats exactly an option. lol

Basically the amp boosts or 'ampliphies the signal and then sends it to thhe speakers. There are enough power inside the capacitors to kill you... a mulii effects pedal couldnt even pump out 5 watts of audio power... and if it could it would be a SS sound...

not the 100 watt, all tube power of that head your looking at
-------------------------------
Faded Gibson SG Special - Black ice mod
Seymour Duncan SH-5 in bridge
B-52 AT 112
Ted Weber Mass100 attenuator
EHX Small Clone
EHX Metal Muff
DIY Modded tubescreamer
Dunlop 535Q Wah
Wax Potting tutorial