ive been playing guitar for a little over two years, i cant afford, and i dont have time for a guitar teacher. ive been trying to learn theory for months but every lesson i find on UG always uses one piece of music theory to explain another. so if anyone could suggest a good lesson to start me off i would be eternaly greatful.
Emerse your soul in love

You used to be alright What happened?

Yellow tigers crouched in jungles in her Dark Eyes .
fred solovcks-fretboard roadmap...it is a very good book and goes through a wide variety of everything...without being condicending cough*cough*The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Theory
Quote by heavyairship
ive been playing guitar for a little over two years, i cant afford, and i dont have time for a guitar teacher. ive been trying to learn theory for months but every lesson i find on UG always uses one piece of music theory to explain another. so if anyone could suggest a good lesson to start me off i would be eternaly greatful.

take a class
study with a teacher

a few things to look at 1st:

- 1/2 steps and whole steps (these intervals are the building blocks of diatonic scales)

-Major scale

-minor scale

-intervals of the Major scale

-other intervals as they relate to the intervals of the Major scale

-Triads (chords)

-7th chords

These are some of the basics. But again study with a teacher if possible. Online your likely to get mostly opinions & arguments and as a result, a bit of misinformation and confusion.
Last edited by GuitarMunky at Apr 23, 2008,
buy the book called "learn to play guitar" it was my first book and its helped me a hell of a lot with theory and composing
Quote by GuitarMunky
take a class
study with a teacher

a few things to look at 1st:

- 1/2 steps and whole steps (these intervals are the building blocks of diatonic scales)

-Major scale

-minor scale

-intervals of the Major scale

-other intervals as they relate to the intervals of the Major scale

-Triads (chords)

-7th chords