So i'm studying sight reading right now at Guitar College and they just kind throw you in the deep end by putting stuff in front of you, telling you where each note is on the stave and saying 'Sight read it'. Well, i know about where the notes are on the stave and the pitches they relate to on guitar, my problem is that i don't know where the notes are so well that i can automatically translate what i see into my fingers to put onto the guitar. It takes a me a couple seconds to work out what the note is, and sometimes I have to use the 'Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge' rhyme to work it out. I know the key is practice, practice, practice but i was wondering if there were any guitar related online lessons anyone knew of that would help me out.
when i was learning to sight read, i would read ahead a bit and write the note names in once in a while so i could check where i was as i was going along.. but make sure you write them in before you start playin
Quote by kurt5494
So i'm studying sight reading right now at Guitar College and they just kind throw you in the deep end by putting stuff in front of you, telling you where each note is on the stave and saying 'Sight read it'. Well, i know about where the notes are on the stave and the pitches they relate to on guitar, my problem is that i don't know where the notes are so well that i can automatically translate what i see into my fingers to put onto the guitar. It takes a me a couple seconds to work out what the note is, and sometimes I have to use the 'Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge' rhyme to work it out. I know the key is practice, practice, practice but i was wondering if there were any guitar related online lessons anyone knew of that would help me out.