I'm still doing homework on the AD15VT vs. AD30VT trade off and have read a few places that the trade-off for greater tube saturation and overdrive sound is a worse tone at lower volumes when you use the attenuator to lower the voltage. Is this true, and if so why and doesn't that kill the point of using an attenuator....which I believe is suppose to be high volume sound at low levels. With respect to those two models, I'm still a beginner and honestly can't say I've noticed that much of a difference with my untrained ear.

Thanks!
Quote by Eddie NYC
I'm still doing homework on the AD15VT vs. AD30VT trade off and have read a few places that the trade-off for greater tube saturation and overdrive sound is a worse tone at lower volumes when you use the attenuator to lower the voltage.

First, the attenuator doesn't lower the voltage. I'm pretty sure about that.

Second, a real attenuator does indeed kill a little tone - but so little it's worth using the attenuator to get cranked sound at low volume levels. I believe the "attenuator" in the Vox AD30VT's is not the same as other attenuators, since it only has one powertube (it wouldn't produce much volume at all without the SS power amp section (correct me if I'm wrong)). How well does it work? Pretty well I believe, but I haven't used it myself.
Quote by Lunchbox362
This thread if fail in almost every way imaniganable.
Quote by Ghold125
the vox ad's are not tube amps...

yep hes right
Gear
-Ibanez RG321 ( /w D-Sonic)
-Agile AL-3100 (/w Custom + '59)
-Yamaha FG730S
-Crybaby 535Q
-Keeley TS-9
-ISP Decimator
-B-52 AT-212
Quote by Mental-lica
My hats off to you mr. lanzaa and you can put this in your sig

M en
E jaculating
T o
A wful
L yrics