now, ive been practicing constently for a bout 7 or 8 months and ive been playing for over two years, but just now got the motivation to get better. well ive seen alot of improvement in multiple areas of my playing, and can tell ive gotten alot better, but im at a stand still. i havent really improved much for awhile. im not really that fast at playing and i cant tremelo pick extremely fast, maybe 150-200 bpm but thats it. and no matter how much i practice i dont get any better or faster. i play with the least amount of tension possible and i pay close attention to this. also my sound control when i play lead or play on multiple strings is not very good at all, any suggestions to what i could do to help this problem? anything i should do in my practice or just while im playing, thanx
Quote by SA215OL
. im not really that fast at playing and i cant tremelo pick extremely fast, maybe 150-200 bpm but thats it. and no matter how much i practice i dont get any better or faster.

im assuming quarter notes at 180 ish is probably where you really are. the main cause for not playing "faster" is tension. but remember speed is just speed if you can't make it sound good. a thousand miles an hour of crap still sounds like crap.
Quote by SA215OL
. i play with the least amount of tension possible and i pay close attention to this.

well everyone says this. you may very well be playing with little or no tension, but i've found tension is generally the reason people don't play "faster" let me ask this. can you play "fast" for an hour STRAIGHT without your hand really getting sore or tired? cuz if so then i'd be likely to agree you are probably playing without tension. the only other advice i can give is "MOVE YOUR D@MN HAND FASTER"

do not try to play the guitar, that will never work. simply realize, there is no guitar

Quote by SA215OL