I'm a noob when it comes to purchasing graphics cards because this is my first time doing it... well I was wondering if any of you could help me with this? I have a Gateway GT5432... so is this a good card for my computer? I'm looking toward playing Bioshock/Crysis without setting everything to medium or low quality...
Quote by sadistic_monkey
Yeah, that's a good card. However, your telling us you have a Gateway GT5432 really doesn't help anything in the slightest.

Well I figured you could look up the specs. Tell me what you need and I can give it to you. I'm a noob with graphics cards, but I wouldn't say I'm terrible with computers.. hardware maybe a little.
that card should give you crysis with everything set to high if you run it in DX 9

i run everything on high with the textures set to medium at 1024*768 with a 8600 GT but i only have a 3.4 gig P4 with 2 gigs of ram...soo....
EDIT: it gets good frame rates, so that should run crysis well for you

what you need is to make sure that you have a PCI express motherboard (should tell you on the case) , and that your computer EXCEEDS the minimum power requirements
Last edited by Chad11491 at Apr 24, 2008,
Quote by lololololol
I'm a noob when it comes to purchasing graphics cards because this is my first time doing it... well I was wondering if any of you could help me with this? I have a Gateway GT5432... so is this a good card for my computer? I'm looking toward playing Bioshock/Crysis without setting everything to medium or low quality...

Bioshock will run fine with that...

Don't plan on getting stellar framerates on crysis with it though...Unless you have a good core 2 duo processor as well...

You'll probably get around 20-25 fps on settings over medium at full resolution. And for FPS games I say anything under 30fps are unplayable settings...