Biting the bullet and playing in a band you're not overly interested in + long story

I'm kind of new to this forum, but it seems to be a pretty decent place, the forums are more practical than the harmony central ones it seems, but anyhow...

So recently, out of boredom and stagnation in life I thought it would be a fun idea to join a band, I am by no means a highly experienced kind of musician, but I have been in bands before and played shows, not to mention that I have been playing guitar for about 7 years now, also it has always been my goal to play in something that I am truly proud of with people that I can honestly call my good friends and go on tour and be signed to a respectable label and whatnot.

Okay, I had to cut out a lot of stuff cause the post was just too long and it wouldn't let me post it, and I think it would be better to get straight into the gist of the matter anyways, but I do think I made some pretty important points that some people might relate to, or some people might even learn from.. just stuff about the bits of drama you go through being in a band and with dealing with people etc. etc., if anyone wants to read it I guess I could post the unabridged version in multiple parts with nearly a full historical account of my experiences playing in bands and the ordeals that I (as well as many, many others) have gone through and still go through. But here is pretty much the end of my essay/article/short story whatever you want to call it
------->