moments when new methods and techniques’ come a little easier. Being primarily self taught and playing in earnest now for close to two years, my progress and ability to learn goes through highs and lows. I am sure that’s true with anyone at any level. But being a relative novice I am curious if the "highs" will come more frequently as my skill level progresses.
I experienced more or less a month where things came easily around my one year anniversery of playing.
I am not sure if it was due to an epiphany, or increased enthusiasm for sticking with a rigorous practice plan for a year.
I also can't help but wonder if there is a way to increase the frequency of these "moments of clarity" as I like to think of them. To more accurately describe what I am referring to let me give some analogous examples;

Day 28 of learning to play guitar.
Ok I know 3 open chords, I can remember most of the notes on the low e string, I get that there are major and minor notes, and I sort of understand that they relate to each other somehow, but I have no idea how yet... Thinking about makes my head hurt, I will just play a piece of "hurt" (Johnny cash, Trent resnor) as I have practiced it for 26 of 28 days, because trying to understand a scale(not sure what that means) is just slipping off the edge of my already overtaxed consciousness.
Day 228 of playing.
Hey cool, those open chords I practiced early on can really fill out the sound on this song when used with power chords, and with a little lick added in. (playing "She Sells Sanctuary from the cult for the first time)
"oh my god! This guy (guitarist from the cult) is just using a bunch of harmonics and he plays within the boxes I drilled until I drooled. So he's just using d5,c5 on the A string and finish with an open G chord!"