So, let's assume you're the lead guitarist and you want to decide whether or not to use arpeggios or simply play on a scale during various parts of a song- what is your deciding factor? Do you use arpeggios over the rhythm guitar during verse and play on a scale during the solo or do you tend to use scales for the entirety of a song? Are arpeggios even necessary in lead writing, or are they just 'safe bets' when playing over rhythm? I'm at a relatively intermediate level player, but I have little to no experience with writing. I need a good "rule of thumb" answer, if you guys have any common wisdom on this issue. Where should I start when writing lead guitar over rhythm guitar and in solos and what direction should I work towards?
Weapons of choice-
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Fender MIM Jazz Bass

Favorite genre-

Hard Rock
Hair Metal
Classic Metal
J-Rock

Just let it flow. You don't need to 'write' lead guitar.
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
^+1

Depends on the song and your own interpretation of the music. If two guys were asked to write a lead guitar part over a rhythm, they would write it in completely different ways.
Arpeggios are based on scales. And it depends, some songs I have a part arpeggiating a chord, while my rhythm guitarist is playing the chord, say in 7th with an open high E. But on other songs I have a "lead" part where I am soloing/playing scales and modes over the rhythm
Quote by sum_ugly_man
Arpeggios are based on scales. And it depends, some songs I have a part arpeggiating a chord, while my rhythm guitarist is playing the chord, say in 7th with an open high E. But on other songs I have a "lead" part where I am soloing/playing scales and modes over the rhythm

hmmm arent arpeggios based on chords?
And to TS, a mix of both would soung good
Quote by Reincaster